People are missing it

People are missing it.  I don’t think they have any idea that they are missing it either.  Increasingly, I see people riding in the passenger seat of cars and they are looking down.  They have that look; you know, that look that people only get when they are looking at their damn phone.  It looks rediculous   You look like a moron when you’re looking down at your phone.  Even when I look down at my phone I look like a moron.  Smart phones have made people dumb.  Instead of people enjoying the outside world when they are actually outside, in a car or otherwise, they are looking at their damn phone. What a complete waste.

I understand the convenience of having a smart phone and being able to use it, especially when you’re not the driver of a car.  The thing is, it is only a convenience.  I highly doubt that anyone is ever doing anything where they are texting or typing something that is an emergency.  Seriously.  When stuff is an emergency people use their phone as a phone and hold it up to their face and talk.

I can remember when you didn’t have a choice of what to do.  The only thing to do was look out the window.  If you didn’t want to look out the window you had to bring a magazine or a crossword puzzle or something.  I just don’t get what is so important that people need to see what is on Facebook  or Twitter or otherwise.  I don’t understand why they have to be available all the time or why they have to text all the time or update Facebook with their location or other dumb stuff.  Now, I do use Facebook and Twitter and I like both sites very much.  I however view them as something fun to do in my spare time; not something that I always have to be doing.

I just think that people need to go outside and “be outside”.  They need to be in it.  There is so much beauty that is lost because people refuse to take it in.  Instead, they spend time playing with their devices.

I should state that I do own an iPhone 5 and that I have had a smart phone for the last two years.  I simply choose to not let the phone rule my life and everything that I do.

Lose the phone.  Spend your time outside, truly outside.

Leave a comment

Filed under Computers, Daily Grind, Mobile Devices, Moron Drivers, Outdoors, rant

Leave a Reply

