Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager prompting for credentials

If you’re here you’re probably encountering the same thing I did. You’re using SCCM (SMS) to remote control client computers in your organization and for whatever reason you’re now being prompted for credentials when you start remote tools. I searched high and low trying to figure this out and encountered a good many websites and blogs that were somewhat helpful but none that had the “right answer”. Chances are, if you’re being prompted for credentials when starting remote tools, you have an expired Configuration Manager certificate issued from the CA (Certificate Authority) on your domain.

By the time I figured this out the certificate on our domain had expired 170+ days earlier. It simply had become a huge pain in the butt, and we had more clients that we couldn’t connect to than clients that we could! It was annoying as hell. I decided since I found so much information on other blogs, that I would put the solution in my blog. My boss originally saw that we were having SMS_POLICY_PROVIDER errors that were showing up in the Site Status portion of the console. He asked me to research this and fix it.

After some searching on Google I found that I probably needed to renew my site certificate. Problem was, I couldn’t because it was expired. I had to install a new certificate. I had to go to START / RUN / and type ‘mmc.exe’ and then go to add/remove snap-ins and select the ‘certificate’ one. You need to request a new certificate logged into your SCCM server. Then you need to go to the Root CA and approve the certificate. After this happens your certificate will be placed in your ‘personal certificates’ folder. You need to export that certificate and then import it into the ‘computer certificates’ folder. To do this you have to make the private key exportable. So you need to ‘check the box that allows you to export the key’ on the certificate before you export it on your SCCM server. If you do not do this you will not be able to export the certificate with the private key.

I hope this helps some because it was a huge pain in the butt for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Computers, Daily Grind, Work Related

Leave a Reply

