Working out with a heavy bag in my basement

Well over the weekend I purchased an Everlast 100 lb. heavy bag. I mounted it on a 3/4″ black steel pipe I put up between two floor joists. The pipe is secured by 4 pieces of 3/4″ plywood sandwiched together (two on each side). The plywood has holes drilled in it and then the piece of pipe and the thick pieces of plywood were pushed up in between the joists and then anchored with 2.5″ wood lag screws (6 per side). I actually held myself up on the pipe afterwords and I weigh in at 250 lbs and am 6′ 1″ tall. It holds real nice.

Anyway…I watched a few videos on Youtube, and learned how to properly wrap my hands before taking to the bag. You have to be careful what you watch on YouTube as there were a couple videos from “expertvillage” that were very very wrong ways to wrap your knuckles and wrist before you start pounding the bag.

I pounded the bag today for three (3 minute) rounds. Giving about a 1 minute break in between. My fists are a little sore, and so are my arms and calves. It was well worth it however. This is going to be my preferred way of cardio workout but I’m going to start revving up the pounding each time I train.

I don’t have any kind of formal training but I like to think I’m about average at hitting the bag. Right now I’m not working on power punching as much as getting the technique down well and trying to hit the bag square as to not twist or bend my wrist. Don’t want a boxers fracture (already had one), nor to I want a sprained or broken wrist.

I gotta tell ya, I can’t say enough good things about the Everlast bag. It’s a champ. I’m glad I got the 100 lb. bag too instead of a 70 or 80 pounder. At 6′ 1″ tall and 250 lbs. I think I would be swinging the lighter bags around all over the place.

I got the heavy bag on sale at Dick’s Sporting Goods (a local store). I walked in and found the bag I wanted and bought it on the spot. It was on sale from $130 down to $99. Also bought a pair of Mexican style 180″ hand wraps. I can tell you that if I didn’t have the wraps on my hands would probably be pretty tore up right now. They gave me the little extra padding I needed to not have ripped up knuckles etc.

Really looking forward to my next session. Love it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Grind, exercise, House Stuff

Leave a Reply

