When you cannot hear your smoke alarm!

It is now 3:15am EST. I was just woken up by what I thought was some CO Alarm or Smoke Alarm. It was really faint. I had to stop moving and tilt my head to even hear it. I threw the covers off me and grabbed the Surefire to see what was up. It didn’t sound like any alarm I had in my house so I thought it might be a car alarm or something else. It almost sounded like a “high water” alarm if you know what I mean (for a sump pump).

Anyway…now I’m up…and my adrenaline is going nuts because I just now thought I was going to have to get my family out of the house. So this now occurs to me to have my wife lay awake in bed while I go downstairs into the basement and set off one of the alarms on purpose to see if she could hear it. So I do that (our bedroom is on the second floor). I get back upstairs and she said she didn’t hear anything.  I’m like…..”****, well OK can you go downstairs and do it while I lay up here and listen?”. She does it. I can barely hear it. I about crapped my pants.

I have a smoke/fire (not sure which it is) within 2 feet of my furnace and water heater. I have another one at the base of my basement stairs (in the basement). I have another one at the top of the basement stairs right in the hallway outside of our kitchen. I have another one at the top of the stairs right outside our bedroom. It’s really right at the top of our stairs on the 2nd floor ceiling. This is right outside my bedroom and my daughter’s bedroom. I always replace the batteries in them and am goofy anal about it.

For whatever reason it only occurred to me today that if the ones in the basement go off I will most likely never hear them. I will not be woken up until either the first floor alarm or 2nd floor alarm goes off. This is not acceptable to me. I want to change it.

So now I’m going to go sleep on the couch in the living room because I am afraid it will go off and I will not hear it. Poop!

I would recommend everyone here have someone set off a basement alarm (if you have one) to see if you can hear it where you sleep.

Today I went to Lowes and picked up 2 “Kiddie Wireless Linked Smoke Detectors”. I put one in my basement and one upstairs by our bedrooms. I tested one and the other one went off. Works perfectly. I love it. Well worth it in my opinion. I paid $40 each for them and I plan to get a couple more over the next couple weeks. So it was $85 out the door for 2 of them.

I then took one of my other detectors (less than 3 years old) and put it in our living room even though it’s unlinked. When I put a linked one on the first floor I will move my other unlinked couple year old one down to the basement.

This will give me a linked detector on each floor and an additional unlinked one in the basement and also on the first floor.

I will then have 2 in the basement, 2 on the first floor and 1 on the second floor.

In a week or two I plan to buy a couple more to make my whole house linked.

Here’s what I bought:

http://tinyurl.com/2aucf5

I really suggest you check yours out.  I also suggest that if your smoke detectors are 10 years old you replace them.  They become 3% less reliable every year so if yours are 10 years old they are only 70% accurate.  This statistic is from a fireman that I know.

Sometimes we need to not keep throwing batteries at our current smoke detectors, but instead replace them with new ones.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, House Stuff, Links

Leave a Reply

