Sounds and smells of the home…

As I sit here on a large chair in the living room this morning I realize that I love the sounds around me.  I’m very thankful for them.

I am sitting on a chair with my feet up on an ottoman and reading some knife stuff on the web with my laptop.  There is snow on the ground outside and it’s about 18° Fahrenheit outside. The TV is off (like it should be) and I can hear things.

My wife in the kitchen poring a second cup of coffee.  Her spoon clanging against the cup as she stirs it.  My daughter singing in the play room as she plays.  One of my cats playing with an enclosed ball type of thingy where the ball spins around in a circle.  The smell of pancakes is in the air along with coffee.  I can hear the mantle clock in the living room with me ticking back and forth.  I can hear the warm soothing air blowing out of the heating vents.

I”m thankful for all these things.  It’s very nice to not have the “Boob Toob” on and actually just listen to things now and then.  I’m tired of the bullshit that’s on TV and all of the media anyway.  I’m thankful that I live in a house with a furnace and can enjoy listening to all these things.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, House Stuff, Links, Television

Leave a Reply

