Spending too much time online

So I decided a few days ago that I have been spending too much time online.  Mostly I am addicted to participating in Internet forums.  Currently it has been the Spyderco forums and other knife related forums.  I have vowed to stop going for at least the next 5 months.  We’ll see how this works out.

One of my biggest problems is that I love looking at pictures of knives, or Surefire flashlights, or just any good quality cutlery (not the junk they sell on Home Shopping Network).  If I see the pictures I want to buy the items and most times I do.  So I’ve also agreed with myself that I will not buy another knife until my birthday (sometime in the next 8 months).

I think lots of people are spending too much time online and not enough time outside and either playing (if you’re a kid) or working around the house or even just throwing a ball back and forth between you and a good friend.

I know it’s winter time (at least here) and it’s harder to go outside and do stuff but we all need to make an effort to quit becoming a bunch of sloths that sit in front of a computer all the time.  I mean quite a few of us sit in front of computers at work.  Why come home and do it some more?

Go outside, play, do something, run, jog, build stuff, fix things, go hiking, walk around your neighborhood.  Change your life.  I’m trying…..one step at a time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Computers, Knife stuff, Links, Outdoors

Leave a Reply

