Vista vs. Linux (Winner = Vista)

I got frustrated tonight because Windows Vista Business lost my profile again when I booted it up.  I decided that I would just blow away my entire laptop and load one of the latest distro’s of Linux.  I tried out openSUSE 10.3 and also Ubuntu 7.10.  I used to run Slackware 8.1 back in the day and I loved it (however it wasn’t without problems).  I had been running Windows XP Pro on my older laptop and I figured when my new laptop came I would just order it with Vista, and that’s exactly what I did.  I’ve had this new laptop for about a month now and it’s been fine for the most part.  Just little things here and there that I don’t like or have yet to get used to.

It can be frustrating because certain applications will not load.  Both myself and my boss have also lost our profiles at least 2-3 times each in the last 6 months (I was running vista on a spare test laptop).  So I got tired of it and installed Linux tonight.

I forgot all the things I hate about Linux until tonight.  Half of the stuff has to be configured via command line.  About one quarter of things don’t work right after the install.  I ended up going with Ubuntu 7.10 and I got everything working except the sound.  I even got Compiz Fusion running properly along with my wireless card.  I still cannot get the sound working.

However when I rebooted my wireless card no longer worked.  I also had to enable “SSID Broadcast” on my router or Ubuntu wouldn’t even connect.  If I turned the SSID Broadcast off, like I do when I’m running Windows, it just wouldn’t connect.  If you can help it you should never have SSID Broadcast enabled since broadcasting your SSID isn’t the best idea for security purposes.

Thankfully last week I used Windows Vista Backup to make 3 DVD’s of my entire laptop, and on top of that I have a Ghost® image of my Windows Vista Business laptop on the company network.  I’ll just restore the entire thing on Monday back to Vista and it will be like it was last Thursday at 10:03am.

Sometimes I forget that even though I get annoyed by Microsoft that there isn’t a lot out there that is better.  I however do like Mac OS X and I can’t wait to get an iMac.

I guess I’m just used to Windows and even though it has some problems here and there, it still works for me 97% of the time.  It’s sorta like that old Chevy that you have that you have to fix every now and then but you wouldn’t give it up for the world because you love it.

For those that care or want to know, here are my laptop specs:

  • Dell Latitude D830
  • Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz
  • 2GB RAM
  • 120GB 7200 RPM SATA hard drive
  • DVD+R/CD-R Drive
  • Intel 3945 A/B/G Wireless Network Card
  • Nvidia Quadro NV140 256MB RAM Graphics Card
  • ieee 1394 Firewire
  • Blah blah blah blah…..
3 Comments

Filed under Computers, Links, Work Related

3 responses to “Vista vs. Linux (Winner = Vista)

  1. For what it’s worth I got the sound working but I am still annoyed at a few things. We’ll see what tomorrow brings. I may not reimage it. I may leave it for a little while.

  2. Carlos Ferreira

    Have you tried ubuntu? I’m running 8.10, installed via wubi. Seems to work very well, installed all the controllers automatically.
    Mine’s an HP Pavillion dv6000, centrino duo @ 1.5 GHz.

  3. Remy Lovag

    I have been quite happy with XP, but Vista (which was imposed to me upon purchasing my previous computer, I know now merchants allow to downgrade to XP) was a disaster. I have switched to Ubuntu 8.10, then upgraded to 9.4 and lately to 9.10, no regrets whatsoever, the configuration is automatic, no virus, no anti-virus, therefore all resources used for computing and PC much faster. For help, instead of 140 Microsoft programmers, you have millions of volunteers in the forums and community. All software are free, it all adds up.

Leave a Reply

