Smoking vs. Non-Smoking

Today I walked into a Damon’s restaurant with my wife and little girl. We were going to go in and have a nice lunch. As we were seated in the “non-smoking” area I noticed that we could smell smoke like mad. It was worse than the smoke wall we were greeted by when we walked into the restaurant.

The hostess said that there was only smoking at the bar. I looked at the bar and noticed that there were only about 5 guys sitting at the bar. After sitting there for about 3-4 minutes I realized the smoke was so strong that my clothes were going to smell like smoke when we left and that my daughter would have to be breathing this crap the entire time we were there.

We picked up our stuff and left before our server even came over to get us drinks. We were asked at the front door why we were leaving and I said “it smells too smokey in here”. I’m sure I’m not the only one who has walked out or decided to just go somewhere else due to the “smoking” section.

I have talked to managers of restaurants like TGI Fridays and Texas Roadhouse that are entire non smoking restaurants. They say that they have more customers since they made the entire place non-smoking.  I’m glad Damon’s continues to have a smoking section for the 5 idiots that are at the bar so that 20 people decide to go some place else.

It reminds me of the commercial that says….

“Having a smoking section in a restaurant is like having a peeing section in a pool.” It just doesn’t work. It all runs together.

2 Comments

Filed under Links

2 responses to “Smoking vs. Non-Smoking

  1. I just read your blog on smoking at Damon’s restaurant. Im writting a speech for my speech class and would like to use the quote:

    “Having a smoking section in a restaurant is like having a peeing section in a pool.” It just doesn’t work. It all runs together.

    Can you please tell which commercial used this quote? As you can see Im not a writter. But I would love to end my speech with this quote but to do so I have to citie it. Any help you can give will be greatly appreciated.

    Blessings to you and your family,
    Elaine

  2. Alexis

    i would love to use this quote for my english paper. “Having a smoking section in a restaurant is like having a peeing section in a pool. It just doesn’t work. ” How do i cite it though??

Leave a Reply

