Your job is just a means to an end

I’m now 40 years old and I’ve come to the conclusion that your job is just that, your job.  It’s work.  It’s a means to an end.  I used to like what I do but now it has just become the same monotonous bullshit every single day.  Not much changes.  Drive to work, deal with bullshit, drive home.  I’m not even sure that money makes it worth it.   I was never one to want or have “a career” as I think that just glorifies something that is simply a way to stay fed and do other things in life that you want.

I’m finding that the older I get the less I care about my job.  I couldn’t care any less for it, in fact.  I have no interest in doing anything “extra”.  Why?  Because nobody gives a fuck anyway.  It seems that we have lost the kinds of companies that care about their employees.  It’s unfortunate because when that happens the employee no longer gives a fuck  about the company.  Now, instead of going above and beyond, you do the absolute minimum.  Why?  Going above and beyond doesn’t get you anything but a kick in the face anyway so why do it.

My job is a way to keep food on the table and a roof over my head.  It also gives me some extra money do do other things that my family and I want to do.  My employer doesn’t care about me and I no longer care about them.  It was the same way at my last job that I was at for 10 years.

It’s a shame really, because things could be so much better if companies and employees gave each other a little extra.  That’s how it used to be.  Now everyone only cares about money.  Make as much money as possible regardless of who you fuck and who you make angry.  It’s a load of shit really.

 


4 responses to “Your job is just a means to an end

  • Washington, DC

    Dave, I totally empathize with what you’re dealing with. I work with organizations and spend a great deal of time assessing and fixing such issues. I even blog about such issues: disconnect, low morale, poor job satisfaction, and bad relationships. Change is possible if leaders are serious. They have to be willing to admit that there is a problem and something has to be changed. Unfortunately, many companies aren’t ready for change.

  • Susie

    Hi Dave ~ I am sorry to hear about your view of your employment. I own a small business and I care a great deal about my employees. Well, let’s say I care about the employees that care about my business. I can sense when a new or veteran employee begins to go sideways on me. I step right up. I want to talk about what they are feeling. I am not their Mom and I did not take them to raise. I tell them that it is not me that is responsible to make work interesting for them. It is a job for me too. It goes both ways. I think that since I am a caring person, this allows some employees to drag their own stuff into their job and try to drag me down. This makes my job hard. I do not want to go into my business with an employee that is burned out and on a constant bummer. I end up finding a way to move them out the door. But not before I sit down and try and talk with them on many, many occasions. Most of the time it is more money they want yet unwilling to work for it. Then I turn into the bad guy and then I get pissed.

    Our place in this world is what we make of it. We cannot expect others to make us happy. Because they will not make us happy. They are too busy making themselves happy. Who in hell is out there to make me happy as an employer? No one. I do not and cannot depend on my staff to make me happy. That is all on me. I could not imagine going to external sources in order to create inner happiness and peace. I would not even know where to go to find that!

    I love my job most of the time (except when having to deal with other people’s crap which is so NOT my job). I make it what I want it to be. Same with my home life. I love my husband. He s such a great person. I would not do anything to bring him issues that are mine to get over. He has his own. People need to bloom where they are planted every moment of every day. If they get stuck, pick up and move to a new patch of dirt and try to bloom there. Life is too short. Try and enjoy it the best you can anyway.

  • I agree

    I know this is an old post, but I think it makes a lot of sense. Susie, you need to read the last paragraph again of what is being said here. It is very true. The world is sinking into a money grabbing free for some…and our communities are paying the price for this greed. Susie, what you said is the typical response of an employer that we can’t expect others to make it’s happy. The post was written by somebody who completely gets it on my opinion. What I think the post is saying is that live your life, enjoy your time and you don’t have to be another burnt out wreck of a person because companies these days will typically squeeze the life out of you so why give a hell about them. Good post, it’s actually very positive :-)

  • Susie

    I agree as well! :) I thought my post was how I felt with a response to Dave’s. I connect with Dave. I enjoy his blog. I hope I was not misinterpreted. Dave rocks it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers